“Tales from Gouger Hill” by William J. Powers, Jr. investigate the history of U.S. Route 7, South, to Moon Brook, known by that name since the 1860’s.
For years it was associated with the notion that a group of immigrants and their Saturday night drinking, fighting, and eye gouging, led to the use of that term.
The article traces the origins of the story, presenting the development of that specific area of the town, and the criminal activities that led to the naming of this section. A fascinating tale, told in great detail with accompanying maps and photographs.
Four pages of end notes provide further documentation of the text.